Mirror

Published by

on

Standing by the roadside 
Side by side with two friends
We watch flashy cars going north and south
Like thoughts in our minds
A road trip will help us mend our broken hearts we say
But my Ford Mustang, broken down by the roadside, says otherwise

The harsh, cold wind blows past us
Our heads bent to the ground as if
Begging the ancestors to light a fire
Fire to warm our hearts, growing cold inside
Heat to warm our bodies, dying from the outside

"The desert makes me think of my wife," Huan says in a raspy voice
We pay attention

"The sand, vast, ends unseen like how deeply I loved her
Dry quick sand, haste to devour, as her charms did to me
The night sky, glittery and beautiful, like the dresses she wore
The day's sun, warming, just like her presence.
But here I am freezing ," he pauses to catch his breath

"The cold night's breeze, eating me up
Just like her texts, ice cold
The day's extreme heat , burning me up
Just like her harsh words did, pepper
Desert sand staining my eyes with tears, but I prefer this because
teary, I won't see her with another" he ends as the mechanic finally arrives.



2 responses to “Mirror”

  1. Scarlett ๐Ÿฆ‹๐Ÿ’ฎ Avatar
    Scarlett ๐Ÿฆ‹๐Ÿ’ฎ

    Nice one๐Ÿ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emmanuel Avatar

      Thank you so much๐Ÿ’ฏ

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started